A Tail of Two Kitties, PT 2

Night update! 

It’s officially been 24 hours, and so much has changed already! 

We found that Remus had a BAD case of fleas, so after a good brushing with a nit-comb, he was rid of about 11 large adult fleas. Some were smaller, but most were swollen and about as large as a ceramic sewing needle head :( (thank you to my wonderful sis who did the combing while I was at work). Then, we made a mixture of lemongrass and eucalyptus oils to get rid of any we may have missed, and repel other fleas. 

Since the de-fleaing, he’s been much less talkative, and as of right now (about 10 pm) he’s been sound asleep for 3 hours. Compared to last night, when he would wake every hour or so and mew til he fell back asleep, it’s an amazing change. He’s still in the guest room, and loving the space and the toys. 

Morgana, meanwhile, is doing better as well. While still not happy, her demeanor has changed from a wary, spooked out cat, to just a grumpy “why are you here,” so it’s quite possible that we might start doing visual familiarization this weekend! We have a baby gate that Morgana doesn’t jump over, but we would need to make sure Remus doesn’t climb on it. 

Today, once I got off of work, was all about Morgana. I fed her roast chicken when I got home, and held her while I was doing some chores around the house, then I took her upstairs to my room (remember it still smells like Remus), and spent more quality time with her there. I fed her some of her favorite wet food, which, while my room still smelled like Remus, was inching closer to the positive association of his scent (meanwhile, Remus couldn’t care less. It’ll be a lot easier for him to like Morgana than the other way around). After about 45 minutes of staying in our room, Morgana was back to her chirruping, sassy self, and loving in me as if I didn’t Trojan horse another cat into her territory. Yay! 

I foresee a quiet night ahead, so hopefully, my next update will be more progress! ​

One thought on “A Tail of Two Kitties, PT 2

Leave a Reply

