Walk MS, Kansas City 2016

A friend of mine was diagnosed with Multiple sclerosis early this year, just months after receiving her MS in Criminal Justice & Criminology. Meeting her at roller derby practice, I was in awe of her strength & perseverance. She was instantly a source of laughter and light, and when I found out she had been diagnosed with MS not a month prior to our meeting, I wanted to help in any way that I could. So, when she invited me to join her team for Walk MS, I did so instantly.  This year is the first time I’ve ever participated in a fundraising walk of any sort, and I’m ecstatic to be lending my hands and pocketbook to the cause.

MS is unpredictable, commonly disabling the diagnosed because the disease attacks the central nervous system and disrupts the flow of information within the brain, and between the brain and body. MS is different for everyone, and that makes it all the more challenging to solve. The first Walk MS event was in 1988, and since then more than $920 million has been raised for research and programs to improve the lives of people living with MS. Today, there are treatments where there weren’t any before, and the dream of ending MS is becoming a reality. But there is still so much to do.

I’d love for your support as I join my teammates- an amazing group of men and women- in walking in this fundraiser, our hearts and minds joined together with one common goal: conquer the disease that has affected so many people around the world. Every cent raised will drive ongoing, ground-breaking research, support life-changing programs, and encourage a loving, supportive community for those who need it most.  The cool thing about donations is that any dollar amount helps, $1, $100, it’s all about the heart. I’m so excited to be walking with a great group of men and women united for one cause. Our team, the Auto(immune)bots, is full of strength and heart and determination to show our support of those diagnosed with the disease, while yelling our defiance in the face of MS itself.

If you have a moment, check out our team page here.

If you have more than a moment, I would greatly appreciate any amount donated to our cause.
http://main.nationalmssociety.org/goto/AutoImmuneBots_Emily

 

Live long, read often,
Em

 

 

Leave a Reply

