Touch

20140612-194452-71092056.jpg

I am a coward.
I hide behind pages and bindings and ink.
I speak in other’s words, because mine are too vulnerable.
Made of blown glass, they shake under the slightest look.
I can’t imagine how they’d shatter under someone’s touch.

I am a coward.
I hide behind the delete key.
It was a faulty connection.
Blame the internet every time.
I depend on crutches to speak my mind:
Jack
Jim
Johnny Blue
Johnny Black.
I’m a puppet in their influence.
Only then am I brave enough to touch.

I am a coward.
I can hide behind makeup, clothes, a smile.
I can wear my costume day or night.
I can be someone I’m not.
I am able to slip into the background unnoticed.

I am a coward

Leave a Reply

