Like clockwork

I woke up at 2:30,

My eyes slowly taking in the soft glow from the street lamp outside of my window.

I listened to my breathing

*inhale*exhale*

My heart skipped a beat.

I don’t know why.

Or maybe I do, deep inside,

But I ignore the reason.

The same as I ignore the slight chill

That settles on my naked torso,

Where I pushed the covers away in my sleep.

I roll on my back, shutting my eyes,

But the room just starts spinning.

I haven’t been able to sleep since.

Lying awake at 3am.

Like clockwork.

Every night.

Tick

Tick

Tick

Like clockwork.

 

Leave a Reply

