4:50am, Queens, NY

here I lie,
awake in the wee hours of the morning.
It’s not by choice,
yet it’s still oddly comforting.
Even now, it’s never silent-
Passerby chattering on the street outside,
Car alarms,
Subway cars rattling,
Rolling, whirring down the tracks.
Keening sirens whisking by,
I miss the silence.
hearing the smile from across the room,
The faint droning of the highway from miles away,
The music blankets on bodies on sheets make, as I tunnel deeper under the covers, escaping the night air’s chill,
A heartbeat,
The lone intake of breath in an empty room,
The brush of fingers across the fabric of my clothes,
reminding me,
I’m alive.

Leave a Reply

